Open Source Licenses


If you want any derivative of your work to be open source, choose the GNU General Public License. If you want your code to be of use to the most number of people and don’t care if they integrate it into a commercial product, choose the Apache License version 2.

This project is not just about defining a unified SDLC. It is also about automating it. This gives me the opportunity to work bottom up as well as top-down – an undocumented but important part of agile practice.

Many open source projects go under-utilised due to lack of documentation and difficult installation procedures. I am hosting on Google code. The source is in the repository, but only a dedicated visitor would check it out, create a test project and give it a go. So, I need a cross-platform installer (and some documentation).

One of the first things any of the installers ask for is the license you wish to display. The choices are many if your project is open source. Just look at Wikipedia for a list.

I want to design and write software, not review hundreds of licenses. So, I looked at the Wikipedia pair of tables. From the first table I decided I need to like with code using different licences – as I am integrating other open source packages. From the second table, I decided I would prefer one approved by all the sources listed. In the end, the Apache and GPL were my pick. The GPL does not allow me to integrate with other software using different licenses, so I went with Apache.

Copyright 2010 Paul Marrington for http://usdlc.net

Licensed under the Apache License, Version 2.0 (the “License”);
you may not use this file except in compliance with the License.
You may obtain a copy of the License at

http://www.apache.org/licenses/LICENSE-2.0

Unless required by applicable law or agreed to in writing, software
distributed under the License is distributed on an “AS IS” BASIS,
WITHOUT WARRANTIES OR CONDITIONS OF ANY KIND, either express or implied.
See the License for the specific language governing permissions and
limitations under the License.

Leave a Reply

